Buzzing

Had my last class of my second session of aerial silks.  We did two drops; drops are hard because you have to go reeeeeeeally high, flip upside-down, and tie yourself up.  You are often in a lot of pain when the ties are done, and then you have to fall and hope you’ve tied your stuff right so that you don’t fall on your head.

The kid in this video is freakishly good; I do not execute this stuff like this at all.  The tricks in the video that I did are called “superman drop” and “one and a half”.

I haven’t ever gotten this big of a rush of adrenaline in my life. After I came down my whole body was zinging.  It didn’t help that as I switched busses on the way home, a stunt man base jumped off the TD building at burrard station during my five minute wait between transfers.  Something about a body hurtling off a building just makes you panic.

All in all.  Awesome evening.  Though I’ve got bruises in ungodly places where no woman should ever bruise.  One week off till I’m back at it.  Its 12:30 AM.  No sign of sleep.  Goddamn you adrenaline.

The second video is another version of the “one and a half” though this guy adds an extra, very loose, wrap, which he seems to regret.  I like this video…it gives a more accurate idea of how high an adult has to go to do these tricks.  It also gives a more accurate depiction of the initial adult reaction: what the fuck!  ow!

5 responses

  1. Blaireau

    Curiously, I was told tonight that my circus does not teach these drops to boys…cause its too risky to the jewels (I can attest that there is potential for serious naughty bit abuse once you are sitting in the ‘harness’ position).

    October 28, 2010 at 00:53

  2. elladawn

    holy fuck, my mind is still blown about that you are actually doing this stuff. for some reason actually, climbing/pulling yourself up its the largest brain fuck for me.

    October 28, 2010 at 12:10

  3. elladawn

    Talked to Gerry about this and we are wondering if it would be ok for us to come by at the end of class one night and watch you do some stuff?

    October 28, 2010 at 20:20

  4. Blaireau

    TOTALLY!!!!! PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE!!!!!!!

    I would love an audience. It would be rad. Bring a camera, I’m sure you can come on floor and try some shit, especially on the last class of the session, that’s when everybody gets all mushy I-love-you-ish. Also, last class is when the teachers just make you do shit you don’t wanna do.

    October 28, 2010 at 21:52

  5. acslater

    I have searched and searched for classes in dublin, and blast, there is just no circus established here. Feck.

    November 2, 2010 at 15:50

Leave a Reply

