Tubs

I was on live radio this morning, referrencing a talk I gave to the public on Sexuality and Cancer as a part of a lecture series in the hospital. The podcast isn’t up yet, and it happened in such a blur that I scarcely remember what was even asked…I know I lost my semi conscious train of thought a few times in the sea of things (mics, dave fanning sitting across from me (Irish music legend!) and three of the producers faces starring into the studio through a windowed screen room while I spoke meant that when questions came from the public, I believe I may have mislaid a few of my points. But with nada media training, mama visiting, and so many patients to see in the last two days (9 in fact- a very heavy workload in between meetings and other responsibilities) I had to wing it all and frankly, I’m simply pleased I came out still feeling in one piece. Media high! Media high!

10 responses

  1. Blaireau

    why did you post this before the podcast was up? SHAME!! I can’t wait for it now! This is so exciting. I’m green green with envy.

    Way to go gorgeous! You are the shit.

    March 23, 2011 at 16:29

  2. acslater

    It’s up now! Argh crazy to hear myself!

    March 24, 2011 at 00:32

  3. acslater

    http://2fm.rte.ie/tubridy/#podcast_panel

    March 24, 2011 at 02:56

  4. elladawn

    ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
    MEDIA TRAINING MY ASS!

    You were perfect!
    I love your voice, so smooth, confident and never ever rattled. If you missed any of your points I can’t think of where you would have added anything. This reminds me of years ago when you shared a secret dream to be a radio sexuality talk show host (do you remember?) how amazing that your first experience in the media was on this topic!

    I found how you spoke about sexuality so refreshing, so patient and individualistic, always avoiding the maxims the host was at times pushing you to state.

    Hope you don’t mind but I shared it with my mother and Billy. I think they will find it really interesting and may have some friends who have dealt with these issues to share it with.

    ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

    March 24, 2011 at 11:30

  5. elladawn

    here is the direct link if you are sharing it with people because it might disapear from the list or be difficult to find in the future:

    [audio src="http://www.rte.ie/podcasts/2011/pc/pod-v-23031121m56stubridysexualityandcancer-pid0-1316808.mp3" /]

    March 24, 2011 at 11:32

  6. Blaireau

    I am so happy you posted this today…I’m on my computer again, measuring neurons.

    First, ED is right, your voice is perfect for radio. So soft and calming. But I also like that as the conversation goes on and the host gets more blustery, you get more excited about your subject instead of yielding him the simplistic bromides he’s aiming for.

    I need to rant a moment: I love how dick-centric the host is. You’re both talking about the same thing, but he has to blurt out the crowning (male) symptom: IMPOTENCE. Wasn’t that exactly what you were talking about? Sexual impotence? Buddy. Cocks aren’t the only thing that get impotent, and we were discussing a universal (gender in-specific) cause that one may approach with counseling. Jesus. If you wanna get your dick up buy viagara. If you want a healthy sex life, consider in what other ways you may be impotent.

    I am reminded of the huge hump that icord (one of our collaborators) was faced with. Upon being founded as research center for the study of spinal cord injury, they made a big brouhaha about their mandate: serving the public that are living with acute and chronic spinal cord injury. So they polled them and asked what their primary concerns were with regards to their quality of life. Top priority: sexuality.

    Poor icord. A 5 story building in VGH filled with people who do fantastic basic science research. And they put themselves out there and have to now own up to providing increased quality of personal sexuality/sexual experience to those disabled by spinal cord injury. Hence was born a lab devoted to producing vibrators (I’ve probably told this story before. It was a bit of a shock). Seems to me they could have done way more with that info/mandate/funding, such as bring up a program with professionals like you. Sex toys won’t do anything if you cannot feel wanted or engaged. I love what you’re doing.

    This was super rad. I wish I could go to your talks in person!

    March 24, 2011 at 15:08

  7. elladawn

    I REALLY hope that the next one on sleep gets you invited back. These would make such a fantastic series, if there is anyway to make suggestions in the public programming realm I’d turn these into pod-casts produced by St. Lukes to increase access for people not able to attend the lectures in person.

    March 24, 2011 at 15:27

  8. acslater

    Blush. Mega blush. I’m so tickled pink with your enthusiasm, pride and opinions (dave’s maxims yes! Dick centric and slightly diminishing of the efforts involved in recovery post treatment yes) and I have more to say… But for now I’m mega wiped and overdue for sleep and a long weekend getaway to west ireland. Hard to believe two years ago I could barely handle giving a talk in front of two people.
    And oh my god I forgot about wanting to be a sex radio therapist…the producers were delighted with the interview, apparently they were so flooded with positive responses from the audience they were thinking of having a segment on the following day about it too, reading the emails and texts to the station out. I haven’t listened to today’s show to see if they did, but goodness it’s everything I could have hoped for that it got listeners engaged.

    March 24, 2011 at 17:04

  9. acslater

    Blush. Mega blush. I’m so tickled pink with your enthusiasm, pride and opinions (dave’s maxims yes! Dick centric and slightly diminishing of the efforts involved in recovery post treatment yes) and I have more to say… But for now I’m mega wiped and overdue for sleep and a long weekend getaway to west ireland. Hard to believe two years ago I could barely handle giving a talk in front of two people.
    And oh my god I forgot about wanting to be a sex radio therapist…the producers were delighted with the interview, apparently they were so flooded with positive responses from the audience they were thinking of having a segment on the following day about it too, reading the emails and texts to the station out. I haven’t listened to today’s show to see if they did, but goodness it’s everything I could have hoped for that it got listeners engaged.

    March 24, 2011 at 17:04

  10. acslater

    Oh, and Natalie is giving the talk on sleep so she is next up to the radio bat. Niamh was first while I was in Vancouver when she gave a talk on cancer and the family (I believe she went before an interview with Danny DeVito. Random). We seem to have set a good impression with the station since they have called sequentially to come in.
    The talks (6 in total) were all recorded by a camera guy and are being put into a dvd series that will be distributed (we are also thinking about putting them online in some kind of passworded way through the hospital IT and St Luke’s website). I had to watch my two for edits already- at an hour each it is a long time to watch one’s own face.

    March 28, 2011 at 14:32

Leave a Reply

