1/52

LONG INTRO:

The second week of 2012 is upon us and due some pestering from our honorary 4th member (G_ r_y), a focus on time / now / future / this year has dominated my recent internal musings. Pairing this sentiment with Colin’s incessant obsession with the idea that are lives are too cluttered, I’d like to propose a way of tracking this year between the three of us in a lighthearted way: every week I’d like us each to make a post about one of our favorite/most meaningful/things.  We should include a picture of some sort and a small story about the why. 

This is basically a direct rip off of a design blog I go to on occasion: http://www.themarionhousebook.com/category/fifty-two-objects/ I like the format she uses and have attached a word document you might want to use as a template (52 Things Template) but you could totally come up with your own/just write something out directly into wordpress.  Basically I write in the information in word and then take a screenshot image using the “Grab” application. I enjoy the woman’s posts that are more personal rather than just design oriented as evidenced here.  Rather then just a way to track time it would give me a great feeling of connection to the spaces you two inhabit.  Although we (especially me) tend to share our bigger purchases here, oftentimes the best and most personal new acquisitions go unrecorded and I think we can learn a lot (even more than we already know) about each other (and maybe ourselves) through those objects we most treasure.  I also think it may prove a useful way of taking stock of our individual lives and the things that inhabit them, make them more comfortable, more of a home.  So what do you think?  Do you buy the suggestion?  If not I’ll try and do it anyway and maybe it will catch on. 

Oh and if you do decide to do it, lets add a level of organization by adding the tag “52” in the tag section in the right sidebar.  Actually it might even be fun to start using tags more often in general to help us with archival strategies.  Do you realize that we started blogging in unison in 2005!?! It would be nice to make such an tome slightly more searchable.

OKOKOKOKOKOKENOUGHALREADYOFMYBABBLE

5 responses

  1. elladawn

    BTW this post is gonna count for last week and then I’ll try to come up with another one that counts for this one. Yah. Its 1am now and I have an appointment at 930am and I have a cold. NOT Smart.

    January 11, 2012 at 22:07

  2. Blaireau

    I like the idea of this…and the intimacy it generates….but I guess I wouldn’t choose to catalogue objects. I just don’t have the same connection to objects that you do (or…very few decorative ones…mostly very few ones that I would find it interesting to blog about). I tend to rid myself of interesting objects more often then not.
    Anyhow. I will have to think about what other minutia that I’ll blog about, but I like the idea of us having our respective consistent blogging projects.

    January 11, 2012 at 23:10

  3. elladawn

    Yah that could be really nice if we each took on a separate project that took on a weekly/or at least regularized consistency. Its funny though that you mention my connection to objects because although I love objects and obviously have my fair share of them, I don’t really have a favorite, for instance I’ve always found that game “if you were in a fire, what would you take with you?” seriously difficult and I’m pretty Ok with purging them on a regular basis. Probably comes from so much moving about. I was talking with AC about this recently, how much I’ve moved around/was moved around by my mother and to date I have lived in: 16 different residences, not to mention spending a tremendous amount of time on the road travelling which means moving at the very least every 2 years of my life if averaged out over time and the trend doesn’t seem to be slowing down.

    January 11, 2012 at 23:24

  4. Zorro

    First off, I love the new background. Needed and refreshing. And when I suggested we move to tumblr ages ago, it was based on a half baked feeling that we were in need of some re-invigoration to stir up that three way dialogue and learning that started us— gulp— seven years ago.
    I needed a little focus, and you have provided it with a tangible project. I like that this would prompt capturing visuals and our belongings/small loves (material and perhaps ultimately inconsequential, but no doubt a source of pleasure at times, and with a story often behind them), and then maybe we could tag and start a new focus when needed? I have a handful of items I can think to catalogue, but then I’d like to go to childhood memories and catalogue a few of those that have been percolating around my brain (alberta features in my consciousness of late, prompted by Gerry’s move). E and I were talking earlier in the week about how few stories we have shared with eachother from our childhoods, and perhaps the good, the bad and the ugly with help colour our understandings of one another. Life, colour and nuance– love is so often captured in the small. I like this, and there is something so apt about your first item including a light switch.

    January 12, 2012 at 09:49

  5. Blaireau

    FUCK. I’m sucking at this already.

    January 17, 2012 at 18:41

Leave a Reply

