$ Commitment $

First Ebay purchase ever.  179.99 (+28 shipping) for boots that retail in canada at gravity pope for over 400 (well, 438 to be exact). I’ve been wanting them for over a year and scouring ebay to deliver me from banking disaster.  I’m less in love with them now then I was previously, but then they’re kinda perfect cause they can be resoled ad-infinitum and they look super rad on me with anything tapered.  I’m also in desperate need of shoe influx at the moment.  Plus, this is the first time I’ve seen them available online anywhere in that color, the color I wanted when I tried them at gravity pope (except that these look like the antiqued finish and I wanted the plain dark rich brown…can’t quite tell from the pic though. hm).  I hope that customs doesn’t rape me.  I hate this gamble.

3 responses

  1. I think they will be awesome on you! And I’m sure you can always dye them slightly darker if you need to. But customs! WTF!! I just don’t understand them at all right now, 60$ on my last purchase and nothing on my summer hasbeens. It really makes no sense. Hope you’re not caught up in it too!

    January 21, 2012 at 10:49

  2. Zorro

    I told you both the APC boot story…and I had been feeling all proud I’d gotten such an online deal. They were still at a savings, but did it ever sting to know it was customs sucking up such an insane amount of money from one transaction. You could contact the seller and ask that they not disclose the full value of the boots but if they are shipping them registered than they will probably want to cover themselves. You’ve wanted this style of boot for ages, and these do look built to last. I can vouch from having two pairs of beautiful boots (the madewell motorcycle boots and the apc knee high’s) that there is little else as satisfying as a gorgeous pair. Picture request and customs amount disclosure when they arrive!

    January 21, 2012 at 12:51

  3. Blaireau

    Yeah, I had sent that request regarding reporting the value of the boots to the shipping (remembering your APC story) but got no response. I did get an email today to say that they were shipped so likely they shipped them before checking email. Hm. I have already budgeted for them to be 240 (boots + shipping + ~30 dollars customs?) . I’m hoping I don’t get charged more then 30……

    I’m also like….95% sure that I sized these at a 6 for me, which is unusually small for flats for my feet. But I remember them being unusually small in the first place, so I hope I’m right and it wasn’t 6.5!! That would suuuuuck.

    January 21, 2012 at 16:24

Leave a Reply

