love at 1st sight

Saw one of these Mike Kelly in Paris 4 years ago and fell really hard. It was one of the first times I was intensely, mind blowingly jealous of an art work and an artist. I am not sure I will ever be able to make anything as devastatingly beautiful, but it is one of the few works that makes me keep trying. He committed suicide earlier this year and the tragedy hit some of my friends and I harder than we would have expected. Go to the link below to see many more example from this series and the gorgeous exhibition space they are presently being displayed in.

MIKE KELLY @ Skarstedt

2 responses

  1. Zorro

    Swit-swoo. Beautiful, and so psychologically complex.

    October 2, 2012 at 13:45

  2. Blaireau

    all I can think of is burnt fingertips and the hell of glue guns.
    Are the objects pushed into a spongy/thick medium? I love the black and white one you posted.

    October 3, 2012 at 20:06

Leave a Reply

